Dinaane Debut Fiction Award

The Dinaane Debut Fiction Award and Kraak Writing Grant winners for 2016
2016 Dinaane Debut Fiction Award.

Winner – Selling LipService

Runner Up – No Word Like Home

Runner Up – The Last Stop

2016 Kraak Writing Grant

Winner – Braids and Migraines


Non-fiction takes the lion’s share of sales of books made in South Africa, with fiction limited to a very small percentage of all sales of locally published books. Many locally published novels sell just a few hundred copies, making it difficult for publishers to recoup the costs of publication from sales.

Sometimes wonderful, illuminating and challenging fiction doesn’t get published because publishers are more and more constrained by market forces. It is heart-breaking to silence these voices, as fiction is the one genre where the heartbeat of southern Africa is documented in an uncensored manner. We cannot allow it to disappear.

Accordingly, Dinaane, the only award of its kind, aims to promote new southern African fiction that speaks to both a local and international audience. It encourages new writers and new readers by publishing material which would likely otherwise not have been selected – for purely commercial reasons – by local publishers of literature. 

The winning title is supported by Exclusive Books.
Winners of the European Union Literary Award include:
  • Dubsteps by Andrew Miller (2014)
  • The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself by Penny Busetto (2013)
  • Khalil’s Journey by Ashraf Kagee (2011/12)
  • Deeper than Colour by James Clelland (2010)
  • Saracen at the Gates by Zinaid Meeran (2009)
  • Till We Can Keep an Animal by Megan Voysey-Braig (2008)
  • Coconut by Kopano Matlwa (2007)
  • Bitches’ Brew by Fred Khumalo and Ice in the Lungs by Gerald Kraak (2005)
  • The Silent Minaret by Ishtiyaq Shukri (2004)


Results 1 - 8 of 8

Dub Steps

Winner of the Dinaane Debut Fiction Award for 2015

Product details

The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself

The Story of Anna P, as Told by Herself is a sparse disturbing novel reflecting the past, present and future of a woman, Anna P, who lives on an...

Product details

Khalil's Journey

Ashraf Kagee, winner of the seventh annual European Union Literary Award, evokes the richly-textured beauty of everyday life of the last century’s...

Product details

Till We Can Keep an Animal

Till We Can Keep an Animal is about a middle-aged woman who is attacked, raped and murdered in her home by armed robbers. The novel is written from...

Product details

Deeper Than Colour

Thematically, Deeper than Colour explores the wide gulf between our view of ourselves, how we are seen by others, and the dispassionate images seen...

Product details

Saracen at the Gates

Saracen at the Gates is a wildly revolutionary tale that is as raucously hilarious as it is bitterly sad, with a satirical edge that finds easy...

Product details

Ice in the Lungs

Ice in the Lungs scrutinises moral quandaries in apartheid South Africa in a dazzling array of meticulous detail and hidden truths complicated by...

Product details


European Union Literary Award Winner 2006. Coconut is a story that deals with growing up as a black child in a white world. It is the story of black...

Product details