The Goddess of Mtwara and Other Stories

The Caine Prize for African Writing 2017 The Goddess of Mtwara and Other Stories

The Caine Prize for African Writing is a literature prize awarded to an African writer of a short story published in English. The prize was launched in 2000 to encourage and highlight the richness and diversity of African writing by bringing it to a wider audience internationally. The focus on the short story reflects the contemporary development of the African story-telling tradition. 

This collection brings together the five 2017 shortlisted stories, along with stories written at the Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop, which took place in April 2017. 

The Workshop authors are: 

Lidudumalingani (South Africa), last year’s winner 
Abdul Adan (Somalia/Kenya), previously shortlisted 
Lesley Nneka Arimah (Nigeria), previously shortlisted 
Tendai Huchu (Zimbabwe), previously shortlisted 
Cheryl Ntumy (Botswana/Ghana) 
Daniel Rafiki (Rwanda) 
Darla Rudakubana (Rwanda) 
Agazit Abate (Ethiopia) 
Esther Karin Mngodo (Tanzania) 
Lydia Kasese (Tanzania) 
Zakariwa Riwa (Tanzania) 

Co-published by Jacana Media in South Africa. 

ISBN 978-1-4314-2556-3 
GENRE Short Stories 
FORMAT Paperback 
SIZE 190x130mm 
EXTENT 240pp 
RIGHTS Southern African 
RELEASE September 2017